Prix de Lausanne 2020 prize winners
3rd March 2020

Eight prize winners were selected by the jury at the Prix de Lausanne international ballet competition which was live streamed reaching more than 1 million views.


© Rodrigo Buas

Out of 377 initial video applications (301 girls and 76 boys), 77 of the 84 selected candidates participated in the competition week with 21 reaching the finals at the Auditorium Stravinski, Montreux, Switzerland.

Each of these eight promising young dancers have won scholarships and the opportunity to enter one of the prestigious partner schools and ballet companies.

Up to six hours of daily live sessions were streamed and the selections watched more than 1,122,594 times on ARTE Concert, YouTube, Facebook and the Prix de Lausanne website.  Commentary by Chi Cao (Prize Winner, Prix de Lausanne 1994) accompanied the streaming in China.  The final saw 168,437 views on ARTE Concert, YouTube and Facebook bringing the cumulative audience for the week to 1,364,748 views, doubling the audience from last year.

Harlequin is proud to have partnered with the competition for eleven years supplying all rehearsal and stage floors at the prestigious event by providing Harlequin Liberty sprung floors covered with Harlequin Studio vinyl performance surfaces and warmly congratulates all the participants.


L-R: Antoine Vereecken (coach for Wayne Mcgregor variations), Véronique Jean (coach for Mauro Bigonzetti variations), Deborah Hess (Canada’s National Ballet School), Dirk Rueter (Harlequin Floors), Kathryn Bradney (Artistic and Executive Director Prix de Lausanne), Prof. Jason Beechey (Dean, The Palucca University of Dance) © Anne-Laure Lechat

Prix de Lausanne 2020 Prize Winners:

MASCIARI Marco, Italy

ARBUCKLE Ava, United States

SANTANA João Vitor, Brazil

ZHANG Lin, China

KANG Chaeyeon, South Korea

HOLELEU Matei, Romania

VAZ Victor Augusto, Brazil

WANG Yuyan, China